In 1900, the U.S. Army opened a newly built fort that was to guard the entrance to the Puget Sound. Located on Whidbey Island, the fort was named “Fort Casey” in honor of brigadier General Thomas Lincoln Casey, the last U.S. Army chief of engineers. Fort Casey became part of the “triangle of fire,” along with Fort Worden and Fort Flagler, and its big guns were first fired on September 11, 1901.
Within 20 years, Fort Casey was the fourth largest military post in Washington, housing 10 officers and 428 enlisted men.
The Army used the fortification until World War II. When Fort Casey was decommissioned in the 1950s, Seattle Pacific University became the property’s owner – updating and renovation the buildings.
Today, SPU continues to welcome school groups, churches, nonprofit organizations, and outdoor education classes to this remarkable historical site. Known as “Camp Casey” by its many returning visitors, Camp Casey Conference Center continues to offer groups like yours the ideal place to reflect, excel, discover, and grow.